First steps in postgres

Hi to all,
I’m new with Timescale and working on creating a table with 60 columns. I’ve included the DDL below, and I’m wondering if there are any best practices I should be aware of or if anyone has suggestions on optimizing this structure. Additionally, I’m unsure about some of the permissions and the hypertable creation – any feedback would be appreciated!

CREATE TABLE dwh_conta.reading (
a_plus_frame varchar(500),
alarm int,
alarm_stat int,

qmin_time varchar(250),
read_date varchar(250),
read_date_time timestamp,
read_date_time_utc varchar(250),
read_time varchar(250),

wd_5_vol numeric
);

alter table dwh_conta.reading add primary key ( id, read_date_time );

GRANT CREATE, USAGE ON SCHEMA dwh_conta TO ga_balvi;
GRANT CREATE, USAGE ON SCHEMA dwh_conta TO goaigua_nifi;
GRANT UPDATE, TRUNCATE, REFERENCES, INSERT, DELETE, TRIGGER, SELECT ON TABLE dwh_conta.reading TO ga_balvi;
GRANT UPDATE, TRUNCATE, REFERENCES, INSERT, DELETE, TRIGGER, SELECT ON TABLE dwh_conta.reading TO goaigua_nifi;

SELECT create_hypertable(
‘dwh_conta.reading’,
‘read_date_time’,
migrate_data => true,
chunk_time_interval => INTERVAL ‘1 day’,
associated_schema_name => ‘dwh_conta’,
associated_table_prefix => ‘reading’
);

Thanks in advance!"

This way, you’re inviting the forum members to provide more targeted assistance or advice based on your specific concerns. Overall, your post is on the right track!

Hi @javier_aragon , you can use the same permissions as your regular table.

If you’re using 60 columns probably your data will end up going to TOAST. Take a look on the surprising impact it can bring.

Another thing that I noted is that you’re not optimizing the data types. Looking to all the columns that ends with _time or _date and they looks like a timestamptz but you’re still using varchar(250). Limiting varchar is not a good idea, check why.

You can also find some good instructions here: Timescale Tips: How to Optimize Your Ingest Rate