Strange CPU consumption after querying hypertable

:wave: I have been trying to track down an issue that we’re seeing in our database, and after some time debugging, I believe it has to do with Timescale. However, it is not clear to me yet whether it’s a misunderstanding/misuse of Timescale which is contributing to the problem as I am relatively new to it.

I will start by describing the issue. In our database, we have a table which is used to store time-series data for a number of “feeds” as well as some other related things. This table is a Timescale hypertable. Here’s an overview of its schema:

• id: PK UUID
  • feed_id: FK
  • foo_id: FK
  • bar_id: FK
  • timestamp: used for hypertable
  • value: to be aggregated

With this table, we perform queries like:

-- time-series data
select time_bucket_gapfill('1 day', timestamp) as bucket, interpolate(sum(value))
from our_hypertable
where feed_id = '...' and foo_id = '...'
group by bucket;

and

-- non-time-series summary
select sum(value)
from our_hypertable
where feed_id = '...' and foo_id = '...'
group by bucket;

On certain pages there are a lot of queries like these that are fired off for various “feeds” and over time and growth these pages have slowed down. One hot-spot optimization we have considered making is periodically calculating the non-time-series summary and caching it for various page views. So we set up a job to run periodically over all “foos” (a small table) to calc and cache their summaries.