Coinbase Websockets and Asyncpg for Timescaledb insertion

I am interested in getting Coinbase Pro data via websockets which is an async library for streaming Websocket data using Python

I was wondering if it is possible to use Asyncpg when receiving a message from the Websockets and push it to the timescaledb?

I am new to timescaledb and my googling hasn’t revealed anything useful.

I would appreciate if anyone could help or provide with some initial boiler code?

Cheers

1 Like

@fahadshery,

Welcome to the TimescaleDB Forum and community! :tada:

Currently Coinbase Pro isn’t on our roadmap because we aren’t able to reuse the data for tutorials based on their licensing. Instead, we currently use Twelve Data to source our stock and crypto data through their websocket API and we will be providing an example of that process soon as a tutorial on our documentation website.

That said, TimescaleDB is PostgreSQL. Any tutorial you find about using Asyncpg to save data from a websocket into Postgres will work with TimescaleDB. The only difference is that your time-series tables should be created as Hypertables. Assuming you’re using the Coinbase API to pull in trade/tick data, we have a tutorial that was just released which will provide a great foundation for some schema ideas and how to use Continuous Aggregates and compression.

Please have a look at Store financial tick data in TimescaleDB using the OHLCV (candlestick) format to get you started.

Also, if you come up with a sample and want to start a PR to our docs (or post a link to a Github example here), please feel free to contribute that back too!

Hi Ryan,

Thank you for your message. Yes, I have no problem working with any Websocket api’s.
The examples in your online tutorials are typically for one time data ingestion. For example: downloading data in csv and then uploading in a hyper table.