ALTER HyperTable and Continuous Aggregates

Hi community,

I am new to TimeScale ; sorry if this is something simple, but I can’t find the solution on threads and google.

Let’s say I have a table with columns:

• Time
  • Key1
  • Value

I configure it as an hypertable and set the retention policy to 7 days.

Next I create a Continuous Aggregates with a time bucket to 1 hour making the group on Key1, and AVG on Value.

Now, I want now to add a Key2 column on the original table, and update the Continuous Aggregate to group on Key1 and Key2.

I have seen I can ALTER the original table to add the new column with a default value successfully.

My question is : How can I update the materialized view / Continuous Aggregate to add the column without loosing the data (because I only have 7 days on the original table).

Thanks

2 Likes

Hello @Idubrois :wave:

Unfortunately, you can’t alter a continuous aggregate, you’d have to build it again. To keep the data, then you’d maybe have to create a new one with the new column and retain the old one?

There are a couple of links here that explain this subject:

As you’re new to TimescaleDB, I think that you might find some of the YouTube content useful especially these editions:

If anyone has some better suggestions for you here, hopefully they’ll chime in.

Hi Lorraine,

Thanks for your answer.

Does it means :

1. I should stop the Continuous Aggregate (but keep old data)
  2. ALTER my source hypertable
  3. Create a new Continuous Aggregate using the newly added column
  4. Unify previous continuous aggregate with new one created using a view or something

In this case, is it a best practices to always version the continuous aggreagtes in case of a change, and always create a view to ‘hide’ the possible multiple aggreagtes on behind ?

Like this ?

• SourceTable (hypetable)
  • SourceTable_Daily_v1 (continous aggregate)
  • SourceTable_Daily (View over SourceTable_Daily_v1)

And if the schema changes I will have :