What is the right way to "vacuum" chunks after data is deleted?

The normal vacuum command doesn’t seem to do anything when Timescale is in use. Is there any equivalent command or procedure to shrink database size after data is deleted in various chunks?

1 Like

Are chunks a kind of partition?

I’m searching too for this topic. I believe this postgresql official link could be useful:

• If you are using manual VACUUM or ANALYZE commands, don’t forget that you need to run them on each child table individually. A command like:

ANALYZE measurement;

will only process the root table.

It seems to be the same result that throws the equivalent timescale function:

select * from show_chunks('series.devices');

I’m only a newbie though,

Regards.

That’s really my question… how to properly vacuum the database, and how to do it in one go. I’m sure there must be a way using the extension.

:wave: @benneharli,

Vacuuming via the hypertable (parent table) should work as expected. If you do a VACUUM VERBOSE... as @nando showed, you should see the output through the console. Feel free to provide more detail about what you’re seeing.

Depending on your use case, one of the advantages of using hypertables is the ability to set data retention policies to just drop chunks as they get older. It sounds like you’re doing more targeted data deletion inside of each chunk, but just in case I wanted to make sure I mentioned that. That is, if you were doing something like

DELETE FROM hypertable WHERE ts < now()-'1 month'::interval,

data retention would be the better approach:

select drop_chunks('hypertable','1 month');

Thanks, I can see that vacuum actually does seem to work, and does take the underlying chunk into account. Thanks for the “verbose” hint.

We do use rentention, and that’s great for overall storage limits… this is however as you write more targeted deletes.

Cool. There are definitely times where targeted deletes are necessary and I get that.