Best Practices linking moving data to its set of meta data

Hi folks,

I am new to tsdb and havent found anything specific in the tutorials or in the forums regarding my question:

I have a set of sensors spread over a certain country, each sensor has multiple measurments - the timeseries data. So every one of this sensors has also a certain set of static meta data ( coordinates, city, type, owner etc… like 30 value types of query relevant data)

So in the tutorials some examples ingest this kind of static data straight into the hypertables which might be convenient for a small amount of non timeseries values. For my usecase with 30+ values i think this would not be best practice.

Am i wrong? My intuition says separate the moving from the static data. Relate them somehow, but dont cramp it all in one hyper table.

What do you guys think?
Kind regards,

chwi

Yes! I’d absolutely recommend using a relational table that has the metadata, so something like:

Relational table:

CREATE TABLE sensors(
sensor_id bigint, 
city text,
type integer, --might have a types table?
...);

And then a hypertable that has the sensor_id in it:

CREATE TABLE sensor_readings (
sensor_id bigint, -- could make a foreign key
ts timestamptz,
val1 float,
val2 float,
val3 bool); 
SELECT create_hypertable('sensor_readings', 'ts'); 

Then you can use a join to get the metadata from the sensors relational table.
You might want to make that id a foreign key, but there are performance tradeoffs there, so it depends on your application. If peak performance isn’t what you’re going for, then making it a foreign key is probably a good idea. You can always enforce in the application essentially, but of course I’d prefer to enforce in the database.

This is sort of the typical more “normalized” relational model. There may be times when you want to “denormalize” or, essentially put some of those thirty columns back into the hypertable. I’d say that there are a few cases when you’d want to do that: